English was always my weakest subject during most part of my school life. I remember getting 50-60 marks out of 100 in my English examinations till class ninth. Though I tried my best to learn the language, I was not able to grasp the rules of English grammar. Then a turning point came in my life when I was in class ninth. My School in charge ridiculed me in front of the whole class for not speaking English correctly and for making numerous grammatical mistakes in a single sentence. She said that I will never be able to do public speaking. I was ashamed that day but I made a resolution to prove my teacher wrong some day. I bought the book of English grammar written by Wren and Martin and started reading it. I remember how I used to practice in front of the mirror to speak in English.

Slowly but surely by the end of my school life, I started to improve my writing and grammatical skills. My mark sheets of 10th and 12th class are the proofs of it. But still I was not confident enough that I can speak in public. I started preparing for CAT from 3rd year of B. Tech.  Then I realised that I can’t improve my verbal skills alone. I formed a group of 12-15 friends in my college and we started to have group discussions on a regular basis. I gained some confidence about my spoken English as well as about my written English. With my hard work and dedication I scored 98 percentile in CAT examination and 97 percentile in Verbal section of it. My struggle with spoken English continued during the GD/PI process of various colleges but I finally got through Xavier Institute of Management, Bhubaneswar.

Image

I continued my struggle there too. Finally I got success in overcoming my fear of public speaking when I decided to teach Microeconomics to my junior batch. I took two classes of three hours each and taught 50 students at a time. The best part was when my juniors applauded my effort and told me that they were not bored in the class for even a single minute. After those lectures, I also delivered seminars in my graduation college and my coaching institute in Dehradun about life at a B-School.

Today I do not fear to speak in front anyone. Besides developing my public speaking skills, this struggle has helped me to be persistent in life. Quitting is no more an option for me in life.

